by Zack Pierce and Kiara Hampton

Election year has come again! Many think it’s only between Clinton and Trump, but Gary Johnson is also running in all 50 states. The political team went around the school asking staff who they will vote for and why. We asked each staff member three simple questions

  1. Who are you voting for?
  2. Why are you voting for that candidate?
  3. Do you think that candidate could make America better?

DONALD TRUMP

At foundation Academy we have a staff members that are voting for Donald Trump. One example is Ms. Gibson who said that she was voting for Trump because “I don’t feel like Hillary is the female president I would want to represent me. Although I don’t agree with all of his policies, the ones that I do agree with I feel can make America better.”

Another teacher voting for Trump said, “I don’t feel Hillary is trustworthy. I am not convinced of that, but he is the best choice,” while another said Trump “is going to close our borders and Hillary is the opposite. I believe in my safety.  I don’t know, but he will help.”  

Mr. Gearheart said he was voting for Trump because “he is an outsider which means he doesn’t have a political background. I believe in his tax plans, helping businesses and keeping jobs in America.”  Mrs. Artrip is voting Trump because “He likes charter schools and he is making immigrants come illegally.”

HILLARY CLINTON

At foundation Academy we have a staff members that are voting for Hillary Clinton. Mr. Mitchell said that he was voting for Clinton becasue “I am a democrat.”  Ms. Snavley said, “Hillary Clinton, because I feel it is in the best interest for the people in our country. Yes, I think she can make it better than the other candidates. I may not agree with every choice she has made, but I do think she has proven from a young age that the youth of America are her focus and purpose.”

GARY JOHNSON

At foundation Academy we have a staff members that are voting for Gary Johnson.  Mrs. Sowash said she was voting for Johnson “because he is financially responsible and socially accepting.”  Mr. Sowash said, “Gary Johnson, because I don’t trust Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump.  I don’t think the President should have all of the power.  I want the Senate and Congress to dictate the power.”

Please check out our Hillary Clinton Spotlight and our Donald Trump Spotlight!